NBS club champs qualifiers found

  • 17 September 2023
  • Peter Watson

The shadow boxing is over as we get to the serious end of the season.

The seeds have been found for next week's NBS club champs quarter-finals in three of the four grades.

The final round of qualifying on Saturday (Sept 16) saw some players such as Jack Denton, Mick Leggett and Bryce Vincent surge into contention while others dropped out.

In the Junior B grade for those with a handicap index of 24 and above, Michael Savage finished top qualifier after his 94 saw him total 196 for his best two out of three rounds. He was followed by Warren Carey (200), Mick Leggett (205), Jim McMullan (218), Roma Elkington (219), Chris Louth (228), Bradley Crabb (230) and Steve Turnell (237).

Mike Williams (185) heads the Junior A division for those in the 17 to 23.9 range, with Jack Denton (186) taking the No 2 spot. Next are Dave Blake (193), Phil Sellers on countback from Graham Galt after both totalled 194 and Lewis Wilson (195), Brendan Doyle pushed Ian Hanford back into the eighth and final spot on countback after both finished on 197.

With several stalwarts away or injured, there were only six qualifiers in the intermediate grade (10 to 16.9). That means the very consistent Jason Lee - who topped the standings on 174 and runner-up Jonathan Tuheke (176) bot get byes through to the semi-finals on October 14. Bryce Vincent (180), Neil McLaren (187), Geoff Halkett (187) and Maurice Woodhouse (189) will battle it out to see who will join them.

While all seven seniors (0 to 9.9) qualified, the seedings are still not settled as James Campion and Keri Kotua were away on rep duty on Saturday and have until this Saturday (Sept 23) to play their third and final qualifier. Of those that have finished, Pete Green leads the way on 157. He is followed by Dean Goodman (164), Peter Watson (168), Andy Isle (170) and Richard Denby (184). Currently James totals 160 for his two rounds and Keri 165 but they still have one more midweek chance to improve on that.

In the quarter-finals, the number one seed plays eight and four plays five at the top of the draw, while three plays six and two plays seven at the bottom.

So the draw for the quarter-final - to be played next Saturday (Sept 23) unless some-one isn't available in which case it must be played before October 14 on a day to be agreed - is:

Junior B: Michael Savage v Steve Turnell, Jim McMullan v Roma Elkington, Mick Leggett v Chris Louth, Warren Carey v Brad Crabb

Junior A: Mike Williams v Ian Hanford, Phil Sellers v Graham Galt, Dave Blake v Lewis Wilson, Jack Denton v Brendan Doyle

Intermediate: Jason Lee a bye, Neil McLaren v Geoff Halkett, Bryce Vincent v Maurice Woodhouse, Jonathan Tuheke a bye.

Senior: ??? a bye, ??? v Peter Watson, ??? v Andy Isle, ??? v Richard Denby


Share this post

Leave a comment


Email address

This is never shown to the public.