Old Hickory team comes up short

  • 5 March 2020
  • Peter Watson

Our Old Hickory team finished second at home on Thursday (March 5), just one good individual performance away from a win.

In the end Tasman took the trophy with a more consistent team effort in sunny, breezy conditions off the white tees.

Paul McCrae led the Waahi Taakaro team with the top individual counting score of the day, 41 stableford points. He was ably supported by Barry Rhodes (39) and Warwick King (38), but the next best score was Tom Kennedy on 28 points. Bryan Ramsey (26) and Ray Hopgood (24) had forgettable days. In a quirk of fate, the two Waahi Taakaro players who made up the numbers, Rob Shand and Phil Sellers, both scored well with 42 and 39 points respectively, which would have otherwise been enough to secure victory.

However, Tasman - led by Allen Peacock and Eric Satherley - finished on 153 points, seven ahead of Waahi Taakaro on 146. Third was Motueka on 143 followed by Totaradale (139), Greenacres (138) and Takaka (135). Nelson was well beaten into last with 122 points to claim the popgun.

Twos went to Elton Netto, Dennis Beggs, Rob Miller and Stephen Graham.

The next round is at Nelson on April 2.


Share this post

Leave a comment


Email address

This is never shown to the public.