Old Hickory team top at Takaka

  • 3 November 2023
  • Peter Watson

Our Old Hickory team has given itself a real chance of winning the club of the year trophy after winning a rain-shortened round at Takaka on Thursday (Nov 2).

Led by an equal top individual score of 19 stableford points for nine holes from Graham Galt, we eked out a one-point victory over Totaradale to take home the Old Hickory cup for the next month.

Graham received strong support from Lloyd Moyle (18 points), captain Ian Hanford (17) and Richard Pearson (15) on a day that got progressively more difficult before it was called off early.

Mick Leggett (14) and Phil Sellers (13) were our non-scorers on a day when stablefords were at a premium.

Our total of 69 was just enough to shade Totaradale (68), with Tasman in third on 66. Motueka, Nelson and - surprisingly - Takaka shared fourth on 60, while Greenacres took home the popgun with 57.

Graham G and B Biggs (Totaradale) were the top individual performers. Chris Ruddleston (Greenacres) and R Frengley (Totaradale) shared the twos spoils with one each.

With one round remaining at Waahi Taakaro on December 7, we are just six points behind Motueka and five behind Nelson in the club of the year race which is set to go down to the wire. No other club is within reach. 

Share this post

Leave a comment


Email address

This is never shown to the public.