Pete heads prizes and plaudits

  • 18 December 2022
  • Peter Watson

Pete Green has been rewarded for his consistency by being named Player of the Year at our annual prize-giving on Saturday.

Pete Green Waahi Taakaro Golf Club

A string of strong performances saw him deservedly take the top award in what has been a tough year for the club dealing with Covid and then August's devastating flood. However, the mood was far from despondent with membership, finances and club spirit remaining strong, lots of volunteers pitching into help and a new bridge across the river about to be opened  

After winning the Summer Fedex, Pete carried his form into the winter season to pair with Lewis Wilson in taking out the Brebde Senior/Junior. Second places in both the Barkman Trophy and C&F Legal Stroke followed before he qualified top in the NBS club champs only to finish second in the senior final. In between time he helped lead our Sloan Trophy team to a meritorious third place playing in the tough No 1 spot, finishing with the excellent matchplay record of four wins and a half from six matches.

Furthermore, the man his mates call Pretzel, put his hand up to be club captain in August and is making a good job of that with his enthusiasm and drive, while still playing off a sharp handicap of 5.5.

Junior B champ Warwick King finished second in the Player of the Year standings after heading qualifying, while the evergreen Richard Pearson was just behind in third after achieving the same feat in the intermediate grade. An in-form Phil Sellers also did the double in the Junior A division to claim fourth. Peter Watson - who finally won an emotional senior title after more than 20 years of trying, came fifth after also finishing runner-up in the Six-Hole Challenge. Mick Leggett - who won both the Barkman Trophy and the C&F Legal Stroke in a breakout year - rounded off the top six.

Among other notable winners were Paul Tunnicliff who took home the Individual Matchplay, about the only trophy he hasn't won, while Jim McMullan got a big cheer for his unlikely Shootout victory. Aaron Kotua and Steve Russell combined sweetly to take away the Cap-It-All Trophy and Chris Louth outlasted all others in claiming the Six-Hole Challenge. 

The ever-willing Warren Green was named club volunteer of the year, Garth Jameson was dubbed our keenest golfer (typically he headed out for another 18 holes after prize-giving!) and Julie Sellers was thanked for her efforts organising our women players.

 Roll on 2023.

Share this post

Leave a comment


Email address

This is never shown to the public.