Club prizewinners for 2108-19

  • 18 November 2019
  • Peter Watson

Paul Tunnicliff

Paul Tunnicliff’s cup runneth over – again!

The `Mr Consistent’ of Waahi Taakaro Golf Club has claimed his second Player of the Year title to add to the one he got last year.

The 12.6 handicapper was crowned the club’s best golfer for the winter season at the club’s prizegiving on Saturday (Nov 16).

However, it was a close run thing. Paul’s countback win in the Six-Hole Challenge the week before gave him enough points to pip Keri Kotua who looked likely to take the title.

It was another stellar year for Paul who collected five cups for winning the Shootout, Six-Hole Challenge, Intermediate Stroke, Intermediate Club Champs and Player of the Year. He also finished second in the Burns Philp and C&F Legal Stroke, was a steady performer for our Old Hickory team and represented the club at the Champion of Champions tournament at Totaradale earlier this month.

Keri won two of the club’s top competitions – the individual matchplay and the senior club champs – and came second in the Cap-it-all Promotions Trophy and Senior Stroke  as well as leading our Sloan Trophy team to a creditable fourth placing, representing the club at the Champion of Champions and performing solidly for the Tasman rep team.

Bryan Ramsey finished third in the Player of the Year after winning the Junior A champs and finishing as second runner-up in his division at the Champion of Champions, while Rob Willems ended up fourth in a year that saw him win the C&F Legal Stroke and Senior Stroke and finish second in a memorable individual matchplay final against Keri.

Another to stand out was Steve Russell who dominated the summer competitions, winning the
Burns Philp, Penketh Plate and Summer Fedex. Tom Weiss was also a double winner after victories in the Stubberfield Cup and the Cap-it-all Promotions Trophy with Paul McCrae.

Congratulation guys and to all competition winners and runners-up.

The full prize list for 2018-19:

Summer competitions

Burns Philp: 1st Steve Russell, 2nd Paul Tunnicliff

Penketh Plate: 1st Steve Russell, 2nd Steve Turnell

Stubberfield Cup: 1st Tom Weiss, 2nd Peter Watson

Worley Trophy: to be played on November 23

Summer Fedex: 1st Steve Russell, 2nd Steve Turnell

Winter competitions

Cap-it-all Promotions Trophy: 1st Tom Weiss/Paul McCrae, 2nd Jonathan Tuheke/Keri Kotua

Brebde Senior/Junior: 1st Elton Netto/W Griggs, 2nd Andy Isle/Andrew Craig

Six-Hole Challenge: 1st Paul Tunnicliff, 2nd Alan Church

Shootout: 1st Paul Tunnicliff, 2nd Graham Eggers

Barkman Trophy: 1st Peter Watson, 2nd Terry Hemi

Individual Matchplay: 1st Keri Kotua, 2nd Rob Willems

C&F Legal Stroke: 1st Rob Willems, 2nd Paul Tunnicliff

Senior Stroke: 1st Rob Willems, 2nd Keri Kotua

Intermediate Stroke: 1st Paul Tunnicliff, 2nd Graham Eggers

Junior A Stroke: 1st Dave Blake, 2nd Terry Hemi

Junior B Stroke: 1st Jim McMullan

C&F Legal Club Champs

Senior: 1st Keri Kotua, 2nd Dean Goodman

Intermediate: 1st Paul Tunnicliff, 2nd Steve Russell

Junior A: 1st Bryan Ramsey, 2nd Mike Murphy

Junior B: 1st Warren Carey, 2nd Steve Turnell

Player of the Year: 1st Paul Tunnicliff, 2nd Keri Kotua

The Player of the Year (winter season) top ten points table:

Paul Tunnicliff 222, Keri Kotua 206, Bryan Ramsey 141, Rob Willems 138, Warey Carey 117, Dean Goodman 111, Steve Turnell 93, Peter Watson 91, Steve Russell 87 and Mike Murphy 83.

The Summer Fedex top ten points table:

Steve Russell 2605, Steve Turnell 2255, Bryan Ramsey 2186, Paul McCrae 1968, John McGougan 1757.5, Andy Isle 1675, Barry Rhodes 1614.5, Paul Tunnicliff 1597.5, Tom Weiss 1432.5, Rob Willems 1380

Barkman Trophy top ten points table:

Peter Watson 1560, Terry Hemi 1495, Paul Tunnicliff 1210, Dean Goodman 1187.5, Steve Russell 821.5 Dave Blake 757.5, Elton Netto 750, Steve Turnell 730, Jim McMullan 717.5




Share this post

Leave a comment


Email address

This is never shown to the public.