Club results for 18/3/23

  • 19 March 2023
  • Peter Watson

Phil Sellers and Bryan Ramsey have won the first major club competition of the new season, combining to claim the Cap-it-all Trophy on Saturday (March 18).

Holding a two-shot lead after a fine net 62 in the four ball best ball first round, they did more than enough in the individual net second round to ease to a five-shot win and rack up 40 player of the year points each.

Anchored by Phil's solid 71 - which was equal best of the day - they finished with a total of 210 after Bryan's 77 was added. Phil's 86 off the stick included two birdies, including a two at No 11.

With the course softened by heavy rain and by recent re-sowing of the fairways, scoring was higher than usual off the white tees, making it more difficult for other pairings to mount a serious challenge.

Barry Rhodes (76) and Peter Watson (75) got the closest with a total of 215 after an opening round 64. This earned them 25 points apiece.

Next were Peter Green (74) and Kevin Hurst (83) on 220 following their first round 63 which was worth 10 points each. Geoff Halkett (77) and Mike Murphy (80) couldn't build on their earlier 64 to finish fourth on 221 and take the remaining five points per player.

Phil won the match of the day on countback from Maurice Woodhouse (71). Aaron Kotua (72) and Andrew Craig (73) claimed second and third respectively. Pete's 77 was the best gross of the day.

Barry and Paul Tunnicliff also birdied No 11 to share the twos money.

Next Saturday (March 25) is the Waahi Taakaro Scramble, a three-person team ambrose tournament, which tees off in a shotgun start at 9am. Please report by 8.30am.


Share this post